John J. Longfellow of southwest of Edina, 87 years
old, Civil War veteran and for many years a livestock feeder and quite
an extensive farmer of Knox County, died at his home at 4 o'clock
yesterday morning. He had been ill of flu for two weeks and
death resulted from complications and infirmities incident to old age.
Funeral services will be conducted at 2 o'clock this
afternoon at the home by the Rev. C.S. Young, pastor of the Community
Church in Edina. Burial will be in the Linville cemetery beside
the grave of Mr. Longfellow's wife, who died April 13, 1928.
Members of Cyril A. Graham Post No. 261, American
Legion, of Edina, of which Russell Longfellow a son of Mr. Longfellow,
is a charter member, are to be pall bearers. Mr. Longfellow
himself was a member of Co. A, 21st Missouri Regiment, and served four
years in the Civil War, until its close, returning without an injury.
His oldest son, Perry Longfellow, served all through the
Spanish-American War, and his youngest son, Russell, until the close
of the World War, and they, too, returned without a scratch.
Nine children survive: Perry Longfellow of Butte,
Mont.; Mrs. Frank Hustead, Mrs. N.A. Adams and Mrs. George W. Carter
of near Rutledge; Mrs. Margaret Harrington of Plymouth, Wisc.: Mrs.
G.D. Adams of Lemoyne, Nebr., and Oke and Russell Longfellow at the
home place and Joe Longfellow of near the home, southwest of Edina.
Besides these Mr. Longfellow leaves two brothers,
Robert Longfellow of Elk Falls, Kan., and Dan Longfellow of Rutledge,
and three half-sisters, living in the West. A brother, Weller
Longfellow, od east of Edina, died.... (unreadable on my copy)
Mr. Longfellow was a son of Jonathan and Martha
Longfellow and he was born Jan. 4, 1842, in Ohio. In 1848 his
parents moved to Knox County, settling on a farm near Millport, which
was Mr. Longfellow's home until he was grown.
After returning from the war Mr. Longfellow was
married Feb. 7, 1867, to Miss Mary Ann Grant. They went to
housekeeping on a farm a half mile from the old Longfellow homestead,
near Millport, and lived there until in 1881, when they moved to a
farm two and a half miles southwest of Rutledge. From there they
moved to the present home in 1902. Eleven children were born to
Mr. and Mrs. Longfellow, two of whom, Thomas and Johnnie, have been
dead for some years.